Sunday 081019

Garage Gym Update:

We went out Saturday and got the rest of the horse mats and have pretty much covered the usable area of the floor. Squat Rack came on Friday, so I spent the evening putting it together. Not the best quality, but it will do. Has a pull-up bar that Gena can use, but if I want to do Kip-Ups, I’ll need to figure something else out. Picked up a 35lb kettle bell at Dick’s for a decent price. I have a bench coming, another medicine ball and a few other minor items. So the smaller items are pretty much done, now we’re looking out for the bigger items. Top on the list, Row Machine. I’m settled on holding out for a Concept II, so will have to watch eBay closely. Would be nice to find a treadmill for winter running, but those seem to be a dime a dozen. Gena would like an Elliptical (calls it a eucalyptus, she’s so cute!) machine. She likes it better than running, says it doesn’t hurt her feet and knees like running does.

I have plans to build a couple plyo boxes and picked up some wood to do so. I have the 20″ and 24″ plans from here so I need to get busy with that this week.

Also got a nice set of rings from Xtreme Rings. Racking my brain on the best way to set up the rings. Our rafters are a little screwy, so I want to make sure we don’t make something too flimsy, but don’t want to make it a major engineering project either.Want to incorporate a way to hook a rope up as well.

Don’t have a really good place for a wall ball, so I’m building a “backboard”, kind of like for a basketball hoop, minus the hoop and basket.

At some point, we’re going to need a few dumbbells, but they’re so expensive! I’ve looked at a few used sets locally, but everyone seems to be really proud of them and want nearly 50 cents a pound… yikes! We bought our barbell and plates for 55 cents a pound from a retail store BRAND NEW!

Well, piece by piece. We still have the YMCA membership to fill in the holes.

Comments are closed.

