Garage Gym Pics

Here’s what we started with after emptying out two truckloads of junk. I’m not kidding, we had wood, garbage and things that had been in the loft of the garage since 1960, 40 years before I bought the house. I even found a license plate from Tippecanoe County from 1970.

The pole in the middle and the loft that it holds up was not there a few weeks ago. The garage had a pseudo loft in it before in the middle, basically making a 7′ ceiling. In order to do anything over head, I was going to have to get rid of that loft, build the one over the workbench for the things we can’t do without and pitch the rest of the junk. Pitching the junk wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be and even gave me a sense of relief. Amazing how much crap you can accumulate over the years, not to mention the dust, dirt and rodent nests. I still needed to make room for the boat, so rather than put it in the garage diagonally like we’ve done in the past, we made a space along the west wall. These first pictures are the trial run. Added a Oly weight set and some horse mats and you have the beginnings of a gym.

As you can see, the boat took up a lot of precious space. So after noticing an ad for warehouse space and making a few calls, I found some dirt cheap, secure indoor storage for the boat. To put it in perspective, a local marina wanted $400 to store the boat in a rack for the season (Oct-March), which meant I still had to do something with the trailer. The place I found was $50/month in a secure coded entry building that I could come and go as I pleased. So for about $150 less, I got the boat AND trailer out of the garage and freed up more space.

We then started adding more equipment, watching the local paper, eBay and the classifieds at my work. We were able to pick up stuff for penny’s on the dollar and even a few new items, like a squat rack and GHS/Back Ext bench. I found a full dumbbell set locally in really good shape for about 25% of what it would have cost me new and the racks were included! With the boat gone, we doubled our space and realized that had we not done that, we wouldn’t have had enough room. We put down a total of 16 4’x6′ mats giving us 384 sq ft of usable workout space. The plywood wall on the west wall is for doing stretches, hand stand push-ups and anything else that a flat vertical surface is needed for. The kids have been put to task to come up with a mural. I’m going to paint the plywood black and they get to do whatever they want from there. I’m betting it will turn into a graffiti wall of sorts, which is cool by me.

We still have a lot of work to do, and only have the rings set up temporarily until I can figure out a way to mount them to the rafters. Kevin came in about 30 minutes after I had them set up in their current location and IMMEDIATELY started monkeying around on them. Goes with the statement, “Build it and they will come.”

2 Responses to “Garage Gym Pics”

  1. Nice setup! I only have a single car carport. This is ridiculous since it’s a 4BR 2400 sqft house!

  2. Up until we did this, the garage was a junk collector. We also have a two car carport, so the garage was never really needed. Sad thing is, we are hoping to sell next spring and I’ll have to do this all over again!

Comments are closed.

