Monday 081208

Clean and Jerk 1-1-1-1-1-1-1 reps

115-135-155-165F-165F-155F-155

I learned a valuable lesson tonight. I learned how to screw up a good rally and psych myself out. I did the 3rd round easily and realized I wasn’t keeping track of my weight. I started calculating where I was when I realized I was only 5# from my PR and it had been too easy. I tried the 165 and could barely get it to my chest… it was all mental. Had I just slapped 10-20# more on it and not worried about how much weight it was I would have broke my PR with no problem. Yes, strength and technique are important, but you can also talk yourself out of being able to do something you are fully capable of doing. I proved this point to myself tonight.

2 Responses to “Monday 081208”

  1. Good for you son, keep the faith…we expect to see those pecs and the washboard chest .
    Deb and Bob

  2. I totally get that. I will get 175 when I do this. It will be easy.

    All of this, of course, is subject to the tone and power of the voice in my head and whether I choose to listen to it!

Comments are closed.

